The Day Before…

We are one day away from the Practice Round event…it’s hard to believe it’s already here. I can be a sap sometimes, so if I catch my eye watering for a moment I won’t be surprised. I’ve heard it said many times that bringing a dream to fruition is like giving birth, it’s your baby, your purpose coming into the world. There is truth to that, and I have to admit, my level of excitement and anticipation is at an all time high.

When I first spoke about my desire to host a golf tournament,  it was to a complete stranger who immediately challenged me to do it, offered her accountability and support and became a mentor. But in that moment of sharing I felt more fear than confidence. Not soon after my dream spilled out of my mouth, I thought, “Why did I just tell her that?” “Now what if I fail?” “It was safe as a thought, now you’ve just exposed yourself!” It is amazing how fast doubt and fear move in on your dreams and goals.  Instead of giving into them and giving up, let it be a sign that you are doing exactly what you are supposed to be doing. It’s like when people from the military tell you that pain is good, because it’s your body’s way of telling you that you’re not dead. Your dreams and goals aren’t meant to be “kept safe” inside as thoughts. I’d encourage you to share them and enjoy being reminded that you are not dead.

So, fast forward to today, the day before. I feel humbled to be able to share my dream and vision with close to 40 people tomorrow. The support and encouragement I’ve received from so many people has been wonderful. About 11 months ago I had an idea, and tomorrow I will have an event. This is far from the end, I’m just getting started, you’ll see. And next year, you’ll be a part of the experience, too!

Thank you!

Leave a Reply

